• Home
  • Football
  • Mourinho Denies that Man Utd Actually Lost at Hull

Only a few days after Twitter erupted with Trump-style "alternative facts", even Manchester United gaffer Mourinho has now joined in - insisting that his side's semi-final second leg at Hull ended 1-1, despite the scoreline of 2-1 to the home side clearly visible in bright lights.

A game of three goals... surely?

In the first leg at Old Trafford, the Red Devils had built up a 2-0 cushion that just about saved their hides in the following leg, despite Hull City's relegation form in the league. It was Hull that opened the scoring yesterday evening after referee Jon Moss controversially adjudged United defender Marcos Rojo to have pulled down Hull's Harry Maguire.

Moss gave Hull a penalty that Tom Huddlestone converted in the 35th minute for a 1-0 lead. That advantage was cancelled out by Paul Pogba in the second half when the French midfielder shot the ball through Maguire's legs from 10 yards. However, the Tigers were roaring again after Oumar Niasse converted David Meyler's cross for a 2-1 victory.

No wait, it was just two goals. Erm...

Ultimately, United still won the semi-final 3-2 on aggregate, so it is the Red Devils that are now heading to Wembley and are set to lift more silverware, should they triumph against Southampton. That's bound to take the sting off seeing their 17-match unbeaten run across all competitions coming to an end at Hull... except that, well, it didn't end, according to Mourinho.

The Portuguese manager was clearly unhappy with Moss's decision - to the extent that he refused even to acknowledge Hull's penalty strike. "I think 18 matches unbeaten is amazing," Mourinho said in words quoted by Football365. "We didn't lose. It was 1-1. I only saw two goals."

"I saw Pogba's goal and their (second) goal - a fantastic goal, a great action, a great cross and the guy coming in at the far post. 1-1. We are still unbeatable."

When pressed on why he wasn't even factoring in Hull's first goal, the Special One simply responded: "I didn't see." Hey, maybe he’s the man White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer turned to before claiming that new US President Donald Trump's inauguration brought "the largest audience to ever witness an inauguration, period."

Was the penalty decision justified?

Okay, so maybe Mourinho didn't mean that he literally "didn't see" the goal. Looking back at replays of the incident that sparked the award of the penalty, Mourinho was apparently right to contest the ref's judgement. Hull boss Marco Silva also later implied that the penalty was indeed contentious.

However, the Tigers manager was thrilled that his team continued the momentum they have developed since he replaced Mike Phelan earlier this month. He said the victory "will give confidence to my players," adding: "The last three games at home we have won and it's important to the players and the fans."

However, when told what Mourinho had thought of the penalty, Silva reacted with amusement before conceding: "I understand what Mourinho tried to say. It's not the most important thing. The referee gave us the penalty. Maybe he saw something to give us the penalty."